The MPSSAA derives its authority from both the Maryland State Department of Education and the local school systems.  Both the local school systems and the State Department of Education have individual and cooperative roles in the authorization and support of the MPSSAA.

     With the authority granted to the MPSSAA, the Association shall supervise and administer all rules and regulations, provide leadership in conducting athletic programs, recommend the development of new and innovative athletic programs, and perform all other functions as stated in the "Master Agreement Outlining the Interscholastic Structure for Public Schools in Maryland".

     The Association is under the direction of the Executive Director and consists of a staff that conducts the day-to-day business of the Association.  Included in the staff is an Assistant Director, Coordinator of Officials, Program Specialist,and an Administrative Assistant. 

     In order to effectively conduct the Association's business between Board of Control meetings, there shall be an Executive Council composed of a President, President-Elect, Past President, the Executive Director, a representative of the Maryland Second Schools Principals' Association and a representative from each District Association.  The State of Maryland is divided into nine Districts.

            District 1 – Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, and Washington Counties.

            District 2 Montgomery County.

            District 3Prince George's County.

            District 4 – Charles, Calvert, and St. Mary's Counties.

            District 5 – Anne Arundel and Howard Counties.

            District 6Baltimore County.

            District 7 – Cecil and Hartford Counties.

            District 8 – Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and

                                  Worcester Counties.

            District 9Baltimore City.

     The legislative powers of the MPSSAA are entrusted to a Board of Control which meets twice a year to vote on the different issues surrounding the Association, discuss and review the financial activities and preside over any other business.  The members of the Board of Control shall be selected as follows:

a.       One delegate appointed by each school system Superintendent.

b.      Three Superintendents to represent all school system Superintendents.

c.       Representatives from each of the school systems, based on the school enrollment in grades 9-11 in all member schools in the system, according to the following scale:

                                                Enrollment                              Representatives        

                                                1-11,999                                   1

                                                12,000-19,999                         2

                                                20,000-27,999                         3

                                                28,000-35,999                         4

                                                36,000-above                          5

d.      Each appointed Board of Control member, if present, shall have one vote.

     In addition, there are many standing and tournament committees that administer the 24 State tournaments as well as many other programs.  Among the duties of many of the committees is to submit all proposals to the Executive Council for review and/or recommendations to the Board of Control. 



SEND PAGE TO A FRIEND| PRINT THIS PAGE| SITE MAP | TERMS OF USE | PRIVACY POLICY | © 2007 Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.